Who Won't A Marriage License Be Issued To?
nearer of kin than second cousins (O.R.C. 3101.01), or when either of the
applicants is under the influence of an intoxicating liquor or controlled
substance or is infected with syphilis in a form that is communicable or
likely to become communicable (O.R.C. 3101.06).
What are the Procedures Regarding Marriage Licenses?
the State of Ohio, the application for a marriage license must be made in
the county of either applicant. If neither applicant is a resident of Ohio,
the application must be made in the county in which the ceremony is
parties are required to be present at the time of making the application
for the marriage license. If either, or both applicants are physically
incapacitated, their physician must complete and affidavit as to the
physical disability, and this affidavit shall be filed with the application
for the marriage license.
applicant must provide a social security number.
Top of Page
What is the Earliest Legal Age One Can be Married?
law requires that the age of the male applicant be EIGHTEEN (18) YEARS or
more, and the age of the female applicant SIXTEEN (16) YEARS or more
(unless the Juvenile Court has taken custody of either or both parties,
thereby permitting such a marriage with the proper consent). Proof of age
is required for applicants who are 18 years of age and younger.
female applicant is under EIGHTEEN (18) YEARS of age, and Juvenile Court
DOES NOT have custody, then the parents of the female applicant under
EIGHTEEN (18) YEARS of age, if living and in this country, or the legally
appointed guardians of the minor, are required to give the proper consent
to the marriage.
male applicant is under EIGHTEEN (18) YEARS of age, and/or the female
applicant is under SIXTEEN (16) YEARS of age, consent for the marriage must
be obtained from the Juvenile Court.
either parent of a minor applying for a marriage license, resides out of
the County or State, their consent must be obtained by their appearing
before a Judge of a COURT OF RECORD and consent, in writing, before said
Judge, which consent will then be returned to the Marriage License Bureau
here, and filed.
under 18 years of age must have received marriage counseling before the
license can be issued.
Top of Page
If One (or Both) of Us Have Been Married Before, Do We Need
to Show Our Divorce Papers?
either party has been divorced, the Places, Dates and Case Numbers of the
Divorces are required. A certified copy of the last divorce decree must be
presented at the time of application.
What is the Cost for a Marriage License?
fee for a Marriage License is $50.00.
The Court accepts cash, money order, cashier’s check, MasterCard,
Discover and American Express credit or debit cards. There is a $2.00
convenience fee to use a credit or debit card.
note that the Marriage License is valid for SIXTY (60) DAYS from the date
of the numerous requests by civilians and persons in the Armed Forces to
show proof of marriage at an early date, it is to be emphasized that upon
the marriage of the parties, it is very important that the CERTIFICATE OF
MARRIAGE be signed by the person Solemnizing the marriage who then sends
the Certificate of Marriage Return to the Probate Court as soon as
possible, but within THIRTY (30) DAYS. (R.C.3101.14)
Top of Page
Where Can I Obtain
a Certified Copy of My Marriage License?
To obtain a certified copy of
your Marriage License the court needs to know the first and last names of
the Groom, the first and Maiden (or name prior to marriage) names of the
Bride, and the date of marriage. (If the exact date is not known, give an
approximate year.) The cost of a certified copy is $2.00. You may either
come to the marriage department in person with cash, or send a request
through the mail accompanied by a money order or cashier's check for the
number of copies. Be sure to include a self addressed stamped envelope
where you would like the copy to be mailed. Click
here for the court address and Marriage Department Location.
Top of Page
© PROBATE COURT
OF CUYAHOGA COUNTY, OHIO
1 Lakeside Avenue - Cleveland,
216-443-8764 or 216-443-8765